Butterfly on a Thistle

Some may call me a reticent landscaper, but I prefer to believe that a little bit of wild growth at the edge of the mowedlawn is good for nature, and attracts lots of pretty visitors. After all, I live in a rural residential area, surrounded by fields and trees, with a small marsh at the side of my lot. I think sometimes letting nature just “be” is good for us all. Today I had a visit from an orange butterfly (which I have not identified, but I’m sure one of you will!). It was almost as if he was a professional model- turning around as I sat nearby with my camera, so that I could get a good view from all angles! It was also very fashionable of him to sit on a vibrant purple thistle- a nice contrast to his bright orange wings.

1DSC00551_edited-2

1DSC00546_edited-2

1DSC00543_edited-2

1DSC00540_edited-2

www.anotherperspectivephotography.com

Tags: , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

4 responses to “Butterfly on a Thistle”

  1. Charlie@Seattle Trekker says :

    I love butterfly’s and find the flower of the thistle to be special…thank you for such wonderful photos.

  2. Mike Powell says :

    I am pretty sure that your butterfly is a Great Spangled Fritillary. The orange of the butterfly and the purple of the thistle make a great color combination. I really like your shots here.

Leave a Reply

