2 dragonflies

I had been having a very stressful day, when I was sitting outside and saw two dragonflies flit past me. Immediately distracted from my woes, I ran in and grabbed my camera, and then back into the field, hoping they wouldn’t venture far. Luckily, they accommodated my request for a photograph…. The first, larger brown one was very still, not at all bothered by me getting in close (I started with a few far “safe” shots just in case…but the final image here is only cropped a teeny bit just to center it). The little blue guy was quite the opposite- flying from stalk to stalk in the grassy field giving me mere seconds to focus each time. Unlike some of my fave fellow bloggers, I haven’t researched the names of these two- I just think they’re pretty.

I can’t help but be mesmerized by the intricate beauty in the tiniest of God’s creatures. Today, I needed a few minutes of pure focus (both literally and figuratively)- because photography for the pure joy of it really takes me to a peaceful place. I often have trouble quieting my mind… but when I am looking through my lens, for the pure joy of the image itself, it’s the closest to zen I get.

1dragonfly and flowers_0012_edited-2

dragonfly 2

I was using my general purpose 16-50mm 2.8 lens- but boy I’ve been thinking about a macro. Unfortunately dragonflies are rarely paying customers… and my latest new lens is my beautiful 70-200 for portraits and weddings…. but does a photog EVER stop dreaming about new lenses?

Want to see more of my work?
www.AnotherPerspectivePhotography.com

Tags: , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

2 responses to “2 dragonflies”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    Nice shots. I am pretty sure that the first one is a male Widow Skimmer dragonfly, probably a juvenile one (because of the coloration of the body). The little blue one is a damselfly, but it’s a little difficult to identify it further. As you know, I love dragonflies and am always amazed by their beauty and agility.

Leave a Reply

