Gazania Mania

I love gardens, but admittedly, I am a less than attentive gardener. Mostly I plant perennials, occasionally annuals like petunias- you know- the hardy kind- that can live in sun or shade, with or without weeding, if it’s wet or if it’s dry. (USUALLY I water them on dry days, but mostly I rely on God to decide when they need rain). I am lucky that lilies and daisies love my garden (they are just starting to bloom now)- hostas are pretty and seemingly invincible, and my spirea are thriving- but I don’t try anything fancy.
SO…when I stopped at a local roadside greenhouse to pick up some fresh asparagus (SO TASTY) and just picked strawberries (nothing better!) I wasn’t looking for new flowers. All of this preamble to say that I was attracted to a display of annuals on sale for $1.00 each. It was the pink that caught my eye at first, and then the name “GAZANIA”. Oh, when I saw a name like that, I knew that I needed to plant it at my home. I can’t stop saying it Gazania Gazania Gazania.
My garden was already full, so I planted two of them, one orange and one pink, in a window basket that I have on my deck. It’s visible from my kitchen window, so I should have plenty of visual reminders to water them. So far a week later, they are healthy and well.
a40th birthday_0022_edited-2

a40th birthday_0030_edited-1

Tags: , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

One response to “Gazania Mania”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    I usually depend on coffee to wake me up in the morning, but if I looked out the window at colors this bold, my eyes would open right up. Beautiful shots of a pair of beautiful flowers.

Leave a Reply

