I think my cat is trying to take over….

Some of you will think I am crazy.
OK, most of you KNOW I’m crazy. (in a good way right?)
But I think my cat, Chat, is trying to take over. He is becoming computer literate (on a Macbook no less) and I believe he is trying to communicate with other cats out there. Has your cat been spending an inordinate amount of time sitting on your computer keyboard? I don’t think it’s a coincidence.
I have some photo evidence, as long as Chat doesn’t remove it…I don’t have much time. I just opened a can of moist cat food and as soon as he’s done with it, he will notice that I’m blogging about him…
This has been going on for quite sometime.
Any time I leave my laptop open on the kitchen table, Chat will find his way to it.
Oh… it all seemed innocent enough at first. Maybe he just likes the lights, or the heat.
He had me fooled.
but THEN it started to get a bit suspicious.
At first, it was VoiceOver Utility. It seemed to be on everytime he was at the computer. (for those who don’t know, it’s a feature in the Universal access menu on the Macbook that says aloud what you are doing, and will read text for you etc)
It makes sense now. Of course cats can’t read, so he needs the computer to read for him.
It was very disconcerting to be sitting in another room, and suddenly hear a voice in the kitchen if I was the only one home!!!!
Lately, it’s become even more strange. The last 4 times he’s used the computer, he’s opened iTunes. I don’t ever leave iTunes open- in fact I rarely open it at all.
A few nights ago he was switching through different songs on the playlist, and because, at the time I didn’t think it meant anything, I didn’t pay attention to the words. But TONIGHT…. oh, Tonight I am going in to a night shift, and do you KNOW what he was playing??? “I got a feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night”…. like… I think there is going to be a big cat party at my house as soon as I leave!!! I am SO going to have to put my dog in charge tonight.
And if it was JUST a coincidence, then I expect that at least once he’d open my email, or maybe even Photoshop, which is almost always running on my computer. But no… just VoiceOver and iTunes.
There’s something going on … I know it.

Do you see how he has commanded the computer to purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr ?


“Walk away slowly human. You see nothing, You remember nothing.”


Is it a mere coincidence that JUST after I say “shoo!” VoiceOver Utility says “command not supported?”


apparently he likes my son’s iTunes playlist…I’m looking for hidden messages in here… if you see any secret codes, please let me know…

You really think I’m crazy now, right???
but when the cats master technology and take over the world…. don’t say I didn’t warn you.
I have to go now.
Chat is getting all purry and cute and looking at me with big eyes.
I will not succumb to his hypnotism…I will not… oh…look, he’s such a cute little kitty… come snuggle little kitty… I love you so much….

Tags: , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

2 responses to “I think my cat is trying to take over….”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    Very cute and very funny. Love it!

  2. eremophila says :

    Reblogged this on Eremophila’s Musings and commented:
    This is very funny, but oh so true!

Leave a Reply

