Can anyone ID this bug?


This bug was last seen sitting on the hood of my friend’s truck, near Gananoque ON. (this image was taken by her, not by me)
I have tried using google image to find out what it is, but nothing even remotely similar comes up in my search.
I know that wordpress is full of bug-lovers, and I’m sure that SOMEONE must know what it is.
I’ve never seen one before in my life.
Calling out to the blogosphere…

Tags:

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

2 responses to “Can anyone ID this bug?”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    I think this is a kind of wasp, possibly in the Ichneumon family. The tail-looking thing could be an ovipositor. Possibly a little like this one http://bugguide.net/node/view/71850 or this one http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0e/Lissonota_sp01.jpg

Leave a Reply

