Photo-merge Art

Sometimes I am surprised by my darker side- and it often comes out in my art. I am actually a fairly bright and optimistic person in real life, I have a strong faith and I believe in all things pure and good…. and I usually avoid all things dark and scary. But sometimes my dark side comes out- either in my very dark sense of humour (I find alot of things funny at funerals, and death in general) or sometimes I get a bit dark in my photography or other artistic creation. I love punk and goth fashion (although I don’t wear it myself) I love broken windows and abandoned buildings and decrepit warehouses.
Today I saw a really cool image on HiFi TV- a show called “Behind the Camera”. It was a photographer who did a self portrait, but in a mosaic style. In the strange and meandering, path that artistic trains of thought tend to take, that got me thinking of window panes, particularly one photo I had of a broken warehouse window. And then I got to thinking about what I could put behind that window… so I put two photos together, played with transparancy, colour and saturation, and then added a paint effect. Somehow, though I didn’t start out with a dark vision, it ended up being a little bit creepy. I still think her eyes are quite beautiful though, and there’s something very lonely and vulnerable about the way she is staring out from behind broken glass.

as yet untitled. suggestions welcome


It was a merge of these two photos:


Also as an aside, this post might increase my web traffic. According to my blog stats, at least 5 people have found me by searching for Zombies. Apparently Zombies are a popular topic on the interweb with the young folk today.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

10 responses to “Photo-merge Art”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    This is I side of you I haven’t seen before. The original photo of the girl was a bit creepy, but you’ve enhanced the creepiness factor significantly. The composite is disturbing and a little unsettling (says the guy who shoots creepy bugs).

    • Another Perspective Photography says :

      yes… it is a bit disturbing, but in a good way. Kelly (the zombie) will love it I think- she’s the one who came up with the zombie concept for our photoshoot collaboration in the first place. I promise sunshine, rainbows and roses in my next post…maybe! 🙂

  2. unsouthernbelle says :

    I love the combination and how what you created is stronger and more interesting than the two individual shots. That’s the fun of layering!

  3. paul davis says :

    Funny, I wasn’t creeped out at all. I can see why one would find it creepy, but it felt only interesting to me. The photoshop work is very nice. I need to learn how to do that. It’s a lovely photo.

    • Another Perspective Photography says :

      thank you!!
      I bought two books I found useful -‘ Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 – unleash the hidden performance of elements’ and ‘How to Cheat in Photoshop Elements 10’. Both books come with online resources and step by step tutorials to walk through and practice. That was probably the most valuable thing- just reading about it doesn’t help much at all. The books pointed me to tools that I didn’t even know existed. Most of the time I just open my own pictures and try stuff and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

