The stick bug… a very strange bug indeed

Walking sticks are curious creatures. Even when I was a little girl and afraid of some bugs, I never could bring myself to be afraid of the stick bug. They are not aggressive, they have no weapon, they just merely sit there and look like a stick, and really, you can’t be scared of a stick. Camouflage, as valuable a survival mechanism as it may be, just doesn’t seem like enough, so I had to do some research about the stick bugs defensive technique.
According to National Geographic “Many stick insects feign death to thwart predators, and some will shed the occasional limb to escape an enemy’s grasp. Others swipe at predators with their spine-covered legs, while one North American species, Anisomorpha buprestoides, emits a putrid-smelling fluid.”

his proportions are so odd he didn’t fit into a traditional crop, so I made one just for him.


This little guy must not have been the putrid fluid type, he was much more of a gentleman, who simply sat and waited for us to be done with him.

trying to get close enough to see his face


When I didn’t find enough contrast from his resting place on the windowsill (and REALLY.. who does he think he’s kidding- he’s not camouflage cement) my helpful brother offered up his black shirt for a backdrop. Again, the stick bug complied with minimal fuss.

curiouser and curiouser…


I really do find them to be such fascinating little fellows…all gangly limbs like a 13 year old boy… the most curious looking bug I can imagine.

his legs are just so strange…

Tags: , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

2 responses to “The stick bug… a very strange bug indeed”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    I enjoyed reading your narrative and definitely agree that he’s a strange-looking insect. You prompted me to look up some info about the species and found the following. “Mating behavior in Phasmatodea is impressive because of the extraordinarily long duration of pairings. A record among insects, the stick insect Necroscia sparaxes, found in India, is sometimes coupled for 79 days at a time.” There is even some speculation that the long pairing is a defense mechanism in which the female uses the male as a shield.

Leave a Reply

