Insects, Bugs, Arachnids and Various Flying Things… (aka- I’m not scared of creepy-crawlies)

So many other bloggers inspire me…. I LOVE looking at other peoples pictures, wondering how they got that light, or that angle, what lens they used, and then sometimes trying something new myself.  In this case, I went back through my archives to find some of my favourite bug pictures, inspired by fellow photog blogger Mike Powell – especially by his amazing pictures of the scary creepy creature on his lavendar plant.  Mine are not NEARLY as technically perfect- some of them were just spontaneous- “quick get that picture”, others were planned….and in the interest of time, I pulled a few from my personal facebook albums- which are in low resolution.  (who knows which hard drive I’ve got some of them on!!!)  Next time I’m feeling like a photo adventure, I might just go in search of BUGS in a more serious fashion.

Also, feel free to correct me on my insect names.  I know my “dragonfly” actually has a different name thanks to thePalGuy and his blog featuring educated commentary on the various creatures he finds during his photowalks. (my commentary is usually limited to ‘this bug is PRETTY’)

So hard to capture a bee in flight… not my technical best, but fun trying!

if you only knew how long I waited for this bee to land….

pretty butterfly on a thistle

so nice of him to sit on the thistle so I get the pretty purple and orange together!

the elusive dragonfly

I could have stayed to watch this guy for hours… (I did stay for a long time though!)

I don’t know why everyone is so afraid of spiders, they are marvellous, beautiful creatures.

this was taken in near darkness with just my on-camera flash… not the best photo- but spiders don’t always wait for you to get all your lighting equipment out!

This guy fell for me- literally- I was walking along and he fell out of a tree onto my shoulder. He’s handsome- but not the most subtle little pick up artist!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

2 responses to “Insects, Bugs, Arachnids and Various Flying Things… (aka- I’m not scared of creepy-crawlies)”

  1. Mike Powell says :

    Thanks for the mention. You’ve got lots of cool shots. Love the spider webs especially. I too seek to photograph a bee or a dragonfly in flight. I feel a bit like Daniel in the original Karate Kid movie who was trying to catch a fly in midair with chopsticks. I should warn you that I just posted another creepy bug photo.

  2. Mike Powell says :

    Reblogged this on Mike Powell and commented:
    It’s fun to share photos and thoughts with my fellow bloggers. Here’s is a posting that one of them, Another Perspective Photography, did in response to my recent creepy bug photos. She specializes in babies and weddings. The kind of pressure that comes with those subjects and the accompanying high expectations would terrify me.

Leave a Reply

