Sunset in a Cemetery

I’ve always thought it would be cool to take pictures in a cemetery, but didn’t know the proper protocol… is there an etiquette to photographing in a graveyard?  Emboldened by a post I saw from rpdpod with beautiful pictures of gravestones, I decided to venture out and try.  Some people are scared of graveyards, and consider my fascination with them kind of dark… I actually find them quite peaceful (not that I’m wandering them alone at midnight on Halloween) and always feel very rooted in history when surrounded by the names of people I will never know, wondering about their lives.

There is a lovely old cemetary near me, with a section that is dated in the early to mid 1800’s.  The stones are crooked, worn, and broken- but they are still beautiful- a respectful tribute to those who walked the earth before us.

I love the lines of light and shadow created by the tombstones.

The intricacies of gravestones fascinates me- I can’t help but reflect on the amount of effort put into a tribute that will never be seen by the one whose name it bears.

hope

there is so much texture in the smooth marble and the mossy growth

a panoramic landscape in silhouette

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

One response to “Sunset in a Cemetery”

  1. paul davis says :

    That’s a good cemetery you’ve got there. I always like the oldest stones–a lot of them in the cemetery near me have been eroded by the weather to the extent that I can’t read the names. I’m tempted to do a rubbing to see if I can draw out how old they are. I especially like your first one–so worn.

Leave a Reply

