Portrait or Landscape- how do you see the world?

I was getting a critique from another photographer (a very experienced photographer -one of my photography heroes – Christina Craft of  www.funkytownphotography.com,) and she noted that many of my favourite shots are shot in portrait orientation (4 wide x 6 tall) and she was recommending taking more in landscape orientation (6 wide by 4 tall)….(my dad says the same thing about many of my images- his reason is because landscape displays better on a computer monitor) but as the day progressed through discussions, we realized that I may actually SEE the world in different dimensions than she does.

 I’ve added two photos here that are similar in pose, yet different in composition… and I’m still reflecting on the differences that exist simply because I turned my camera.

Image

Image

 

I know that I find myself turning my camera on its side very frequently- sometimes the shot just ‘feels right’ that way- I’m trying hard right now to really THINK about the photographic decisions I make as I go, to try to understand and define my own style. 

There is always room for a different point of view … or Another Perspective if you will… I just wondered, which way do you prefer to shoot?  What influences your decision? Is there some elemental difference between the two?   

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

Leave a Reply

