Painting with Light- Gananoque Photographer

I love it when I feel inspired by another photographer- and although no photographer ever wants to “copy” another’s style, I find that seeing another person’s way of working, or seeing the world (another perspective if you will…) can challenge me to think outside my comfort zone and try something new.
I’ve started reading the blog of “rpdpod”, and enjoying his photography. From him I learned that a common weed is called chicory. It sounds much more intelligent now that I can call it by it’s name, and not “that pretty blue flowery weed”. (I’m going to try to post a link to his blog at the bottom.)
One of his recent posts was all about bokeh- but not just bokeh as background, but bokeh as the subject- light, colour, out of focus images becoming like impressionist paintings. So, I decided I would try it myself. I was doing a newborn photography session at a lovely waterfront home on a rural road- and as I was leaving, I noticed so many crazy bright wildflowers along the sides of their driveway and by the road. So, I took a few extra minutes, and started playing.
Tell me, do you like the “bokeh” images, the vibrant surreal colours and shapes- or are you more of a literal thinker, and do you prefer the literal interpretations below?

playing with colour, light and focus

playing with colour, light and focus

playing with colour, light and focus

playing with colour, light and focus

playing with colour, light and focus

playing with colour, light and focus

So, those were my light paintings…. see below for the literal versions of the images above. Not all are framed EXACTLY the same, just to please my own eye- but the comparisons are still interesting to me- I hope they are to you too!

Lillies, literally

In this case I think the bokeh version is FAR more interesting.

delightful daisies

my own garden, near sunset

clovers and buttercups

looking up at lillies

And the blog that inspired me

rpdpod.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

3 responses to “Painting with Light- Gananoque Photographer”

  1. paul davis says :

    I like your bokeh/light-painting shots a lot. The first and the last of those are my favorites. Nice! I think you should keep playing with that idea. Thanks for mentioning me–of course, it was other bloggers here on wordpress who told me that pretty blue flower along the road is called chicory, and I was equally delighted to find that out–and I’m always being inspired here by the work of others, including yours. So, thank you on several counts.

Leave a Reply

