When a photographer picks berries, the camera comes along!

ImageI love wild raspberries and black caps.

I can’t wait for this time of year to come along to rush into the overgrown field beside my home to pick the fresh, juicy berries.  Today, the first pick of the season was ripe- spare and far between, but oh-so-worth the effort. Image

I obviously don’t just enjoy eating them, I love the colour, the shape, the shiny round fruit… the ripe ones and the not-yet-ready.  I love taking pictures of the simple things that bring me joy.

Image

and after all that effort- the smallest of rewards- if I am disciplined enough to NOT eat every single one as I pick it- I MIGHT end up with enough for a small bowl.   BUT OH WHAT A GOOD SMALL BOWL IT IS!Image

today I contemplated the possibilities- over yogurt (too healthy) or ice cream, topped with whipped cream, sprinkled with icing sugar….  but today, on my first berry day, I decided to take the purist approach and just enjoy them as they were meant to be- savoured one at a time.Image

Unfortunately that leaves me now, not that many minutes later, after a few quick crops and uploads, staring at yummy berry pictures with none left to eat.  Also, I must mention that wild berry picking isn’t ALL glamour and beauty:

Image

My ankles will be stinging for awhile.  You know, the best berries are ALWAYS just one step too far away, and I ALWAYS forget to put on long pants, and I ALWAYS walk right through the prickles.

And still, I will do it all again in a day or two when I spot the next batch of berries sitting ripe on the bush- just waiting for me.  Can’t wait!

Tags: , , , ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

Leave a Reply

