Generations – Gananoque family Photographer

Sometimes I plan an image, and set up lighting and ask people to pose, and those photos are lovely-  BUT sometimes something even better happens.  Sometimes I’m just blessed to be in a moment when the photograph happens naturally before my eyes.  This picture is taken of my Uncle Ted. He turned 90 this month- he is my mother’s older brother (she wants you to know that he’s older by many many years), and only living sibling (her older sister June recently passed away at 88 years of age, and 3 other brothers before that).  Several members of the family decided to surprise him at his residence for his birthday. (after all, as he said to us- you ONLY TURN 90 ONCE!!)  He also told us that he was so surprised by our gathering that we could have knocked him over with a “tiddlywink” – and then he laughed and said that he was trying to watch his language in polite company! Image

My cousin Hillary just had a baby – he is 11 weeks old.  (a longer story than that is how Hillary is both my 2nd cousin and my 1st cousin once removed at the same time… but that has NOTHING to do with this photo)  Uncle Ted asked to hold him, reminding Hillary that he’s held many babies in his long life- and then these two men- one so new and one not-so-new proceeded to get lost in their own little world. A tiny boy and his great-great uncle.

As I told you in my last post, I love daddies and babies.  I also love grandpas and babies- and uncles and babies… well… I think you probably understand.  Any man, no matter how gruff or tough, or wizened he is, suddenly gains a tenderness, and a softness when holding a baby.

I love this photo.

I’m not sure how long Uncle Ted will be with us- 90 is pretty darn old- but I do know that this memory will be with me- and this picture will preserve this memory for a tiny baby boy who won’t remember it for himself.

Tags: ,

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

One response to “Generations – Gananoque family Photographer”

  1. Janet Walsh says :

    A very touching photo and story. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

