Photographers

I was blessed enough to get to spend three full days in Toronto with three other passionate, brilliant photographers.  I learned so much- not only from our awesome teacher – Christina Craft of FunkyTown Photography, but also from the other class participants. It was amazing to be in the company of like-minded people.

Today, I spent the afternoon with two old friends and a new friend- all photographers- and we walked and we laughed and we took pictures of walls, and doors, and water and eachother.  It was one of those days you just want to put in your pocket and hold on to forever.  Well, maybe we can’t put it in our pocket, but we can put it in an image…. because for all the time photographers spend preserving other people’s special moments- it’s nice to take a moment to capture our own.

Now though, I’m back to the real world.

It’s not a bad world… it’s just… well… nobody really wants to talk to me about which lens gives me the best lens flare at which aperture setting.  Nobody else really understands why the texture on the side of a decaying building is so interesting.

Sure, the internet is great…and I love you all on facebook and such,  but sometimes hanging out in person is required.  I had read so much about off-camera flash- but I didn’t try it until Christina actually walked me through it- hands on step by step.  My friend Sandra Randall drops amazing little tidbits every time we talk photography.  I hope that I can encourage others too- like our friend Margaret who is nervous about shooting her first wedding- She’s going to do amazing, the bride will love her and she will capture beautiful images of a special day.    I love spending time with other photographers- whether they are pros, hobbyists- or like me- somewhere in between.  I love days with my best friend Tracy when we drive and just STOP when we see something we want to take a picture of.  

So, here’s to my photographer friends- the ones who encourage and laugh and make me feel a bit better when I drop my lens like a dolt.  (the lens survived…)  I love you guys!

About Another Perspective Photography

I am a mother, a wife, a photographer, an alto, a friend... I am creative and quirky and funny. I love my husband and kids, I love my dog Pearl, I love my friends, I love pink. I am a photographer for Gananoque, Kingston and Brockville. I love Wedding Photography, Newborn and Baby Photography, Maternity Photography, and Family Photography.

One response to “Photographers”

  1. Tracy Raymond says :

    Love reading your blog……and loved even more seeing me mentioned:) I’ve had you on my mind the last few days:) sounds like you had a wonderful time…..always is nice to share time with others who are on the same page as you……can’t wait to visit and chat

Leave a Reply

